Music for Getting Better at Being Rubbish

 

Yesterday I had a pretty harrowing experience: my second round of flying trapeze. For a good few months I took trapeze classes and I kind of loved them, although I wasn’t exactly the most gifted – there is something cathartic about trying really, really hard at something you are rubbish at, little victories are more exciting. I did flying for the first time in April and was actually pretty adequate, feels totally amazing when you’re swooping through the air. Yesterday however was a different story. As soon as I stepped off the platform I just kept falling. Literally, like seven or eight times versus two good swings. And to top it off my hands are shot to shit (I have seven plasters scattered across my palms) I ache all over and I’m covered in bruises.

Looks like fun…

HOWEVER I like to think that I’m getting better at being rubbish, queue strategic cheer up through this musical playlist…

Errors, Relics

A mighty fine track from their new mini album, New Relics (as an aside I also think Have Some Faith In Magic is the best title for an album EVER)

Alabama Shakes, Hold On 

The title is amusingly apt

Biffy Clyro, Living is a Problem Because Everything Dies

Listen to it loud, then sweep their back catalogue.

Zola Jesus, Skin

A track filled with drama, her voice is incredible. This track is from her 2011 release Conatus.

Mark Lanegan Ode to Sad Disco

Groove to it!

Loch Lomond, Kicking With Your Feet

A song about fighting and fighting back, it’s from the White Dresses EP, released on Chemikal Underground

We Were Promised Jetpacks, It’s Thunder and It’s Lighting

Again loud is best!

Procrastination officially done for the day, add suggestions if you please…

Leave a comment